Acknowledgements, contributors and credits

This study was prepared by the Renewable Energy Division in the Directorate of Energy Markets and Security. It was designed and directed by Heymi Bahar, Senior Energy Analyst.

The report benefited from analysis, drafting and input from multiple colleagues. The lead authors of the report were, Yasmina Abdelilah, Heymi Bahar, Trevor Criswell, Piotr Bojek, François Briens and Pharoah Le Feuvre. Grecia Rodríguez Jiménez was responsible for data management and contributed to analysis and drafting. The report also benefited from analysis, data and input from Chenlu Cheng, Andrea Dertinger, Hideki Kamitatara and Kazuhiro Kurumi and Kartik Veerakumar.

Paolo Frankl, Head of the Renewable Energy Division, provided strategic guidance and input to this work. Valuable comments, feedback and guidance were provided by other senior management and numerous other colleagues within the IEA, in particular, Keisuke Sadamori, Laura Cozzi, Laszlo Varro and Michael Waldron.

Other IEA colleagues who have made important contributions to this work include:

Zakia Adam, Praveen Bains, Christophe Barret, Mariano Berkenwald, Sylvia Beyer, Toril Bosoni, Stéphanie Bouckaert, Davide d'Ambrosio, Connor Donovan, Carlos Alvarez Fernandez, Peter Fraser, Marine Gorner, Edwin Haesen, César Alejandro Hernandez, Zoe Hungerford, Joerg Husar, Dionisia Lyngopoulou, Yannick Monschauer, Apostolos Petropoulos, Uwe Remme, Luis Fernando Rosa, Andreas Schroeder, Jeremy Sung, Michael Oppermann, Jacopo Tattini, Jacob Teter, Nicole Thomas, Aad Van Bohemen, Peerapat Vithayasrichareon, Brent Wanner.

Timely data from the IEA Energy Data Centre were fundamental to the report, with particular assistance provided by Mathilde Daugy, Julia Guyon, Nick Johnstone, Samantha Mead, Julian Prime, Céline Rouquette and Roberta Quadrelli.

This work benefited from extensive review and comments from the IEA Standing Group on Long-Term Co-operation, IEA Renewable Energy Working Party, members of the Renewable Industry Advisory Board (RIAB) and experts from IEA partner countries and other international institutions. The work also benefited from feedback by the IEA Committee on Energy Research and Technology, IEA Technology Collaboration Programmes (IEA TCPs). Many experts from outside of the IEA provided valuable input, commented and reviewed this report. They include:

Countries

Brazil (Empresa de Pesquisa Energética), Canada (Natural Resources Canada), Chile (Ministry of Energy), China (Energy Research Institute – ERI), Colombia (Unidad de Planeación Minero Energética), European Union (European Commission – DG Energy) France (Ministry of Ecological and Solidarity Transition) Italy (National Agency for New Technologies, Energy and Sustainable Economic Development ENEA), Ireland (Sustainable Energy Authority – SEAI), Japan (METI, Institute of energy economics – IEEJ and New Energy and Industrial Technology Development Organization – NEDO), New Zealand (Ministry of Economic Development), Switzerland (Federal Office of Energy), United States, Department of Energy.

Technology Collaboration Programme (TCPs)

Bioenergy TCP, Heat Pump Centre (HPC) TCP, Hydropower TCP, Photovoltaic Power Systems (PVPS) TCP, Solar Heating and Cooling TCP, SolarPaces TCP, Wind Energy TCP.

Other organisations

Abengoa Solar, Acciona Energía, American Wind Energy Association (AWEA), Consejo Coordinador Empresarial (CCE), Electric Power Development Company (JPOWER), Électricité de France (EDF), ENEL, Enercon, European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD), European Commission, European Geothermal Energy Association (EGEC), European Heat Pump Association (EHPA), European Renewable Energy Foundation (EREF), European Renewable Ethanol Association (EPURE), European Solar Thermal Industry Federation (ESTIF), General Electric (GE), Gestore dei Servizi Energetici (GSE). Global Wind Energy Association (GWEC), GoodFuels, International Hydropower Association (IHA), International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA), Neste, Ørsted, REN21, Siemens Gamesa, Solar Power Europe, SPV Market Research, United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE), Vestas, WindEurope, World Bank

The authors would also like to thank Kristine Douaud for skilfully editing the manuscript and the IEA Communication and Digital Office, in particular, Jon Custer, Astrid Dumond, Merve Erdem, Christopher Gully, Jad Mouawad, Jethro Mullen, Julie Puech, Robert Stone and Therese Walsh for their assistance. In addition, Ivo Letra from the Office of Management and Administration supported data management.

Questions or comments? Please write to us at <u>IEA-REMR@iea.org</u>.