Acknowledgements, contributors and credits

This report was prepared by the Energy Investment Unit in the Energy Supply and Investment Outlook (ESIO) Division of the Directorate of Sustainability, Technology and Outlooks (STO). Michael Waldron was the lead author and designed and directed the report with Tim Gould, Head of Division for Energy Supply and Investment Outlooks. Tanguy de Bienassis coordinated the report; he and Inchan Hwang authored the End-Use and Efficiency Section. Lucila Arboleya and Pablo Gonzalez authored the Electricity section. Tim Gould and Becky Schulz authored the Fuel Supply section; Pawel Olejarnik co-ordinated fossil-fuel supply modelling. Simon Bennett authored the R&D and Innovation and Hydrogen sections. Ryszard Pospiech co-ordinated modelling and data across sectors. Eleni Tsoukala and Marie Fournier-S'Niehotta provided essential support.

The report benefited greatly from contributions from other experts within the IEA: Carlos Fernandez Alvarez (coal), Adam Baylin-Stern (CCUS), Tae-Yoon Kim (refining and petrochemicals), Lilly Lee (Transport), Suzy Leprince (public R&D funding), Jean-Baptiste Le Marois (corporate R&D and venture capital), Ariane Millot (buidlings, renewables), Jeremy Moorhouse (biofuels), Yannick Monschauer (buildings efficiency), Leonardo Paoli (transport), Alison Pridmore (transport efficiency), Paul Hughes (industry), Hugo Salamanca (industry efficiency), Apostolos Petropolos (Transport), and Peter Zeniewski (LNG).

The report is indebted to the high calibre of advice, data and support provided by other colleagues in the IEA, including Thibault Abergel, Heymi Bahar, Alessandro Blasi, Louis Chambeau, Davide D'Ambrosio, Chiara Delmastro, Araceli Fernandez Pales, Marine Gorner, Ian Hamilton, Kevin Lane, Domenico Lattanzio, José Miguel Bermudez Menedez, Nikita Patil, Amalia Pizarro, Tess Sokol-Sachs...

The report also benefited from valuable inputs, comments and feedback from other experts within the IEA, including Mechthild Wörsdörfer (Director of Sustainability, Technology and Outlooks), Keisuke Sadamori (Director of Energy Markets and Security), Laura Cozzi (Chief Energy Modeller), Laszlo Varro (Chief Economist), Peter Fraser, Timur Gül, Tom Howes, Randi Kristiansen and Brian Motherway. Thanks also to Jad Mouawad, Astrid Dumond, Merve Erdem, Jethro Mullen, Rob Stone and Therese Walsh of the Communications and Digital Office. Erin Crum edited the manuscript.

Many experts from outside of the IEA provided input, commented on the underlying analytical work, and reviewed the report. Their coments and suggestions were of great value. They include:

Rigoberto Ariel Yepez-Garcia Inter-American Development Bank

Manuel Baritaud European Investment Bank

Thiago Barral EPE-Brazil

Harmeet Bawa Hitachi ABB Power Grids

Markus Becker GE Power

Leila Benali Apicorp

Kanika Chawla Sustainable Energy for All (SEforALL)

Olivia Coldrey Sustainable Energy for All (SEforALL)

Jonathan Coony World Bank

Deirdre Cooper Ninety-One

Adil Hanif European Bank for Reconstruction and

Development (EBRD)

David Hart Information Technology and Innovation

Foundation

Donald Perry Kanak Prudential Plc

Lahra Liberti Organisation for Economic Co-operation and

Development (OECD)

Delphine Marchi International Finance Corporation (IFC)

Espen Mehlum World Economic Forum

Valerio Micale Climate Policy Initiative

Baysa Naran Climate Policy Initiative

Richard Norris Pandreco Ltd

Ignacio Perez Arriaga Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Andrea Pescatori International Monetary Fund (IMF)

Davide Puglielli Enel

Lazeena Rahman International Finance Corporation (IFC)

Justine Roche World Economic Forum (WEF)

Gagan Sidhu CEEW Centre for Energy Finance

Gurdeep Singh NTPC Limited

Maria-Antonietta Solinas Eni

Sandhya Srinivasan World Bank

Jessica Stephens Africa Minigrids Developers Association

Cecilia Tam Organisation for Economic Co-operation and

Development (OECD)

Wim Thomas Independent

Akhilesh Tilotia National Investment and Infrastructure Fund

(NIIF)

David Victor UC San Diego

Merte Villum Pedersen UNEP DTU Partnership

Andrew Walker Cheniere Marketing Ltd.

Kelvin Wong DBS Bank

Peter Wood Royal Dutch Shell

The work could not have been achieved without the support and co-operation provided by many government bodies, organisations and companies worldwide, notably: European Commission and European Union's Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme funding under grant agreement No 952363; Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry, Japan; Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Japan; and Ministry of Economic Affairs and Climate Policy, Netherlands.

This publication has been produced with the financial assistance of the European Union as part of the Clean Energy Transitions in Emerging Economies programme. The Clean Energy Transitions in Emerging Economies programme has received funding from the European Union's Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement No 952363. This publication reflects the views of the IEA Secretariat but does not necessarily reflect those of individual IEA member countries or the European Union (EU). Neither the IEA nor the EU make any representation or warranty, express or implied, in respect to the publication's contents (including its completeness or accuracy) and shall not be responsible for any use of, or reliance on, the publication.