Acknowledgements

This report was prepared by the Energy Technology Policy Division and the Carbon Capture Utilisation and Storage Unit within the Directorate on Sustainability, Technology and Outlooks (STO) of the International Energy Agency. The study was designed and directed by Timur Gül (Head of the Energy Technology Policy Division).

The analysis and production of the report was coordinated by Samantha McCulloch (Head of the CCUS Unit). The modelling work was coordinated by Uwe Remme. The main contributors were Praveen Bains (geospatial analysis), Adam Baylin-Stern, Niels Berghout, Sara Budinis, Peter Levi (industry analysis), Raimund Malischek, Trevor Morgan (Menecon Consulting), and Dong Xu.

Other contributors were Adeola Awoyomi, Simon Bennett, Elizabeth Connelly, Araceli Fernandez Pales, Hana Mandova, Jose Miguel Bermudez Menendez, Leonardo Paoli, Andreas Schroeder, Jacopo Tattini, Jacob Teter, Tiffany Vass, Ciril Wakounig and Brent Wanner. Marina Dos Santos provided essential support.

Trevor Morgan carried editorial responsibility. Erin Crum was the copy-editor.

Mechthild Wörsdörfer, Director of STO, provided encouragement and support through the project. Valuable comments and feedback were provided by senior management and other colleagues within the IEA, in particular Keisuke Sadamori, Laura Cozzi, Laszlo Varro, Carlos Fernandez Alvarez, Paolo Frankl, Peter Fraser and Sara Moarif.

We are also grateful to Jad Mouawad, Head of the IEA Communications and Digital Office (CDO) and the following CDO colleagues for producing and disseminating the report: Jon Custer, Astrid Dumond, Tanya Dyhin, Merve Erdem, Grace Gordon, Christopher Gully, Maria Kyriacou, Jethro Mullen, Julie Puech, Rob Stone, Therese Walsh and Wonjik Yang.

The work could not have been achieved without the support provided by the United States Department of Energy and Japanese Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry.

The analysis and findings in this report draw on strategic guidance, insights and data received during invaluable IEA events: an *ETP 2020* consultation meeting held in July 2019, and a workshop on the potential for CCUS technologies held in February 2020. The work also benefited from information and views provided by participants within the Technology Collaboration Programmes (TCPs) by the IEA (particularly the IEA Greenhouse Gas Programme (TCP on Greenhouse Gas Technologies)) which bring

together thousands of experts across government, academia and industry from 55 countries in order to accelerate energy technology innovation.

Many experts from outside the IEA provided input, commented on the underlying analytical work and reviewed the report. Their comments and suggestions were of great value. They include:

Florian	Ausfelder	DECHEMA
Silvian	Baltac	Element Energy
Thomas	Berly	ABT Consulting Pty Ltd
Christoph	Beuttler	Climeworks
Simon	Bittleston	Schlumberger
Herib	Blanco	University of Groningen
Peng	Во	China University of Petroleum - Beijing
Javier	Bonaplata	ArcelorMittal
Jean-Paul	Bouttes	EDF
Mick	Buffier	Glencore Coal
		Technology Collaboration Programme
Keith	Burnard	on Greenhouse Gas R&D/IEAGHG
Erin	Burns	Carbon180
Al	Collins	Oxy Low Carbon Ventures
		Technology Collaboration Programme
James	Craig	on Greenhouse Gas R&D/IEAGHG
Jarad	Daniels	U.S. Department of Energy
Casie	Davidson	Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Во	Diczfalusy	Nordic Energy Research
		Technology Collaboration Programme
Tim	Dixon	on Greenhouse Gas R&D/IEAGHG
Emrah	Durusut	Element Energy
Ryan	Edwards	Oxy Low Carbon Ventures
Aicha	El Khamlichi	ADEME
Alessandro	Faldi	Exxon
		China University of Mining and
Jingli	Fan	Technology
		Chief Scientist of the Australian Federal
Alan	Finkel	Government
Sarah	Forbes	U.S. Department of Energy
Fridtjof Fossum	Unander	The Research Council of Norway
		Mercator Research Institute on Global
Sabine	Fuss	Commons and Climate Change
Marta	Gandiglio	Politecnico di Torino
		Technology Collaboration Programme
Monica	Garcia Ortega	on Greenhouse Gas R&D/IEAGHG
Oliver	Geden	Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik
James	Glynn	University College Cork

Lukas	Gutzwiller	Swiss Federal Office of Energy
Beth	Hardy	International CCS Knowledge Center
Jonas	Helseth	Bellona
Howard	Herzog	Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Nakamura	Hidemi	Taiheiyo Cement Corporation
Geoffrey	Holmes	Carbon Engineering
		Mitsui & Co. Global Strategic Studies
Takashi	Hongo	Institute
Edmund	Hosker	Hosko I td
Nigol		Coffney Cline & Associates
Nilo	Johnson	Electric Dower Descared Institute
Hans	Jorgen vinje	Gassnova
T a sur de the a	K - :	Research Institute of Innovative
Teruniko		lechnology for the Earth
Anhar	Karımjee	U.S. Department of Energy
		Research Institute of Innovative
Yoichi	Кауа	lechnology for the Earth
Jordan	Kearns	Independent consultant
		Technology Collaboration Programme
Jasmin	Kemper	on Greenhouse Gas R&D/IEAGHG
Christian	Kjaer	Nordic Energy Research
Moonhyun	Koh	Soongsil University in Seoul, Korea
Arthur	Lee	Chevron
Xiaochun	Li	Chinese Academy of Sciences
		United Kingdom Department for
Will	Lochhead	Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy
		Clean Coal Centre Technology
Toby	Lockwood	Collaboration Programme
,		Global Cement and Concrete
Claude	Lorea	Association
Volkmar	Lottner	Independent Consultant
lain	Macdonald	Oil and Gas Climate Initiative Shell
Claude	Mandil	Former IFA Executive Director
Sean	McCov	University of Calgary
Jean	WCCOy	Norwegian Ministry of Petroleum and
Fail	Moisingsot	Forgy
Cyll Daharta	Millini	Energy
Roberto		
Simone	MORI	Enel Group
Peter	Morris	Minerals Council of Australia
David	Nevicato	lotal
Tidjani	Niass	Saudi Aramco
Wei	Ning	Chinese Academy of Sciences
		New Energy and Industrial Technology
Makoto	Nunokawa	Development Organization
Manuela	Ojan	Italcementi Group

		Bioenergy Technology Collaboration
Luc	Pelkmans	Programme
		Swiss Federal Department for
		Environment Transport Energy and
Marine	Pérus	Communication
Vincent	Petit	Schneider Electric
Cédric	Philibert	Senior Energy and Climate Advisor
Rich	Powell	ClearPath
Joris	Proost	Université Catholique de Louvain
Andew	Purvis	World Steel
Toshiyuki	Sakamoto	Institute of Energy Economics Japan
,		Australian National Low Emissions Coal
Noel	Simento	Research & Development
Ralph	Sims	Massey University
Ottar	Skagen	Statoil
Stephen	Smith	University of Oxford
Matthijs	Soede	European Commission
, Jan	Steinkohl	European Commission
Bert	Stuii	The Netherlands Enterprise Agency
	,	New Energy and Industrial Technology
Hideaki	Tanaka	Development Organization
Nobuo	Tanaka	The Sasakawa Peace Foundation
		Research Institute of Innovative
Ryozo	Tanaka	Technology for the Earth
, Martijn	van de Sande	Netherlands Enterprise Agency
,		The Netherlands Ministry of Economic
Noé	van Hulst	Affairs & Climate Policy
Pierre	Verlinden	Amrock Pty Ltd
Kurt	Waltzer	Clean Air Task Force
Zhen	Wang	CNPC
Luke	Warren	CCS Association
Hans-Jörn	Weddige	Thyssenkrupp
Wei	Wei	Chinese Academy of Sciences
Amanda	Wilson	Natural Resources Canada
Markus	Wråke	Swedish Energy Research Centre
Akira	Yabumoto	J-Power
Masato	Yamada	MHI Vestas Offshore Wind
		Japanese Ministry of Economy, Trade
Kyota	Yamamoto	and Industry
		The Administrative Center for China's
Xian	Zhang	Agenda 21
	-	The Administrative Center for China's
Ping	Zhong	Agenda 21