## **Acknowledgements**

This report was prepared by the *World Energy Outlook* (WEO) team in the Directorate of Sustainability, Technology and Outlooks (STO), in co-operation with other directorates of the International Energy Agency (IEA). Tae-Yoon Kim co-ordinated the work and was the lead author, and he designed and directed the report together with Tim Gould, Head of Division for Energy Supply and Investment Outlooks.

The other principal authors and contributors from across the agency were: Simon Bennett (hydrogen, historical episodes), Francois Briens (renewables), Amrita Dasgupta (battery chemistry and recycling, solar PV), Pablo Gonzalez (solar PV, wind), Alexandre Gouy (modelling), George Kamiya (lead on demand), Milosz Karpinski (lead on security policies), Jeremy Lagelee (international coordination), Lilly Lee (battery recycling), Laura Maiolo (renewables, nuclear), K.C. Michaels (lead on environmental and social issues), Toru Muta (lead on supply), Lia Newman (pricing), Tomás de Oliveira Bredariol (environment), Leonardo Paoli (batteries), Sebastian Papapanagiotou (electricity networks) and Rebecca Schulz (renewables, recycling). Marie Fournier-S'Niehotta and Eleni Tsoukala provided essential support. The report relied on the scenario modelling and analysis of the entire WEO team.

The report benefited greatly from contributions from other experts within the IEA: Heymi Bahar, Piotr Bojek, Alan Choi, Elizabeth Connelly, Yuanyuan Gong, Vanessa Koh, Peter Levi, Sakeena

Moeen, Susan Nakanwagi, Apostolos Petropoulos, Ryszard Pospiech, Alan Searl, Jacob Teter, Kartik Veerakumar and Brent Wanner. Justin French-Brooks carried editorial responsibility. Therese Walsh was the copy-editor.

Mechthild Wörsdörfer (Director for STO), Pascal Laffont (Chief Legal Counsel) and Aad van Bohemen (Head of Energy Policy and Security Division) provided support and guidance throughout the project.

Valuable comments and feedback were provided by senior management and numerous other colleagues within the IEA, in particular Keisuke Sadamori, Laura Cozzi, Alessandro Blasi, Paolo Frankl, Peter Fraser, Rebecca Gaghen, Timur Gül, Tom Howes, Sara Moarif, Cyril Cassisa, Xiushan Chen, Marine Gorner, Insa Handschuch and Luca Lo Re.

Thanks also to Jad Mouawad, Head of the Communications and Digital Office (CDO), and to CDO colleagues Tanya Dyhin, Merve Erdil, Grace Gordon, Jethro Mullen, Rob Stone, Jon Custer, Christopher Gully, Julie Puech, Mariam Aliabadi, Astrid Dumond, Isabelle Nonain-Semelin, Clara Vallois, Gregory Viscusi and Therese Walsh.

Emissions data for different nickel production pathways was provided by courtesy of Natural Resources Canada (NRCan). Emissions data for copper and nickel was provided by courtesy of Skarn Associates. Mining waste data was provided by courtesy of Professor Gavin M.



Mudd at the Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology University. Professor Raphael J. Heffron at the University of Dundee provided valuable assistance on the economic benefits of mining. Louis Maréchal and Benjamin Katz of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) provided helpful input and suggestions on responsible sourcing and supply chains. Antonio Vaya Soler and Luminita Grancea of the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA) provided helpful input on mineral intensities for nuclear.

The work could not have been achieved without the support and co-operation provided by many government bodies, organisations and companies worldwide, notably: Department of Industry, Science, Energy and Resources, Australia; Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry, Japan; and Ministry of Economic Affairs and Climate Policy, Netherlands. Activities within the IEA Clean Energy Technologies Programme provided valuable support to this report. Thanks go to the experts from the IEA Technology Collaboration Programmes (TCPs) for their support to review material intensity assumptions, particularly to Marina Holgado, Darina Blagoeva, Franz Lehner and Xin Pang from the Hydrogen TCP, Stefan Nowak and Garvin Heath from the PVPS TCP and Ignacio Marti and John McCann from the Wind TCP.

Many experts from outside of the IEA provided input and reviewed preliminary drafts of the report. Their comments and suggestions were of great value. They include:

Centre (EC JRC)

Harmeet Bawa Hitachi ABB Power Grids

Morgan Bazilian Payne Institute for Public Policy, Colorado

School of Mines

Carlos Felipe Blanco University of Leiden

Antoine Boubault Bureau de Recherches Géologiques et

Minières (BRGM)

Camille Boulianne Natural Resources Canada

Jorge Cantallopts Araya The Chilean Copper Commission

(COCHILCO)

Samuel Carrara European Commission Joint Research

Centre (EC JRC)

Ryan Castilloux Adamas Intelligence

Alec Crawford Intergovernmental Forum on Mining,

Minerals, Metals and Sustainable

Development (IGF)

Aidan Cronin Siemens-Gamesa

Shobhan Dhir University of Oxford

Alison Fleming Department of Industry, Science, Energy

and Resources, Australia

Michelle M. Foss Baker Institute, Rice University



Mitsunori Fukuda	Japan Oil, Gas and Metals National Corporation (JOGMEC)	Kazuaki Kobayashi	Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry, Japan
Hiroyuki Fukui	Toyota	Anna Krutikov	Glencore
Francesca Gostinelli	Enel	Francisco Laveron	Iberdrola
Luminita Grancea	NEA	Yolanda Lechón	Ciemat
Emmanuel Hache	IFP Energies Nouvelles	Dan M. Levy	Credit Suisse
Georgina Hallett	London Metal Exchange	Johannes Lohmeyer	Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale
Mark D. Hansen	Siemens-Gamesa		Zusammenarbeit (GIZ)
Sara Hastings-Simon Payne Institute for Public Policy, Colo School of Mines	Payne Institute for Public Policy. Colorado	Luca Maiotti	OECD
	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	Louis Maréchal	OECD
Raphael Heffron	Dundee University	Rémi Mayet	European Commission
Chris Heron	Eurometaux	Adam McCarthy	Cobalt Institute
Daniel Hill	Natural Resources Canada	Luca Meini	Enel
Noé van Hulst	Special Advisor Hydrogen	Dennis O. Mesina	Department of Energy, United States
Hiroyuki Kaneko	Nissan	Matteo Minervini	Eni
Benjamin Katz	OECD	Mark Mistry	Nickel Institute
Nobuyuki Kikuchi	Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Japan	Susana Moreira	World Bank
Jihyun Kim	Samsung SDI	Anders Nordelöf	Chalmers
Tae Heon Kim Yu-Tack Kim	Korea Energy Economics Institute (KEEI)	Louise Pearce	Environmental Resources Management (ERM)
TU-TACK NIII	Korea Battery Industry Association	Mark Pituch	Department of State, United States



Greg Radford	Intergovernmental Forum on Mining, Minerals, Metals and Sustainable Development (IGF)	Nikos Tsafos	Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS), United States
	, ,	Antonio Vaya Soler	NEA
Marco Raugei	Oxford Brookes University	Antonin Vergez	Ministry for an Ecological Transition,
Carolina Salvaterra	Department for Business, Energy and	Ü	France
	Industrial Strategy, United Kingdom	Takuma Watari	National Institute of Environmental
Gondia Sokhna Seck	IFP Energies Nouvelles		Studies, Japan
Tristan Stanley	BHP	Peter Wood	Shell

